Search

Categories

Latest entries
Uitgar - Violons Barbares

Uitgar – Violons Barbares

A heart stroke record: « Wolf’s cry » by Violons Barbares. Discovered recently, I was amazed by the sound of this band. I listen to this album a lot these days and it is difficult to choose one piece for this article. We will take Uitgar and listen to it before going deeper in the composition of...
Lazikabeber's playlist launch with Bazar Sawan

Lazikabeber’s playlist launch with Bazar Sawan

For this new article, I want to test Soundsgood playlists. My idea is to share with you songs from my last listenings. These are songs or tunes that made an impression on me, which I liked or found interesting. We will begin with novelties of 2018 but older pieces will also be added. Always sounds...

Listen to Lazikabeber’s playlists

Each month, Lazikabeber suggests a selection of tunes, recent or former, which drew the attention of Beber somehow or other. It is a good opportunity to discover or rediscover numerous pieces while taking time to assimilate them during the month. Find all the playlists sorted out by years here: 2017 playlists 2016 playlists 2015 playlists...
Conrod - Julien Lourau

Conrod – Julien Lourau

Three weeks ago, introducting a post on Avishai Cohen’s Short Story, I refered to a saxophone player who gave to me a particularly striking musical revelation. It is in 1996 when I discovered Julien Lourau in a television broadcast called Django d’ Or (rewards for jazz musicians). It was the time of video tapes and...
Biggus D - Bojan Z

Biggus D – Bojan Z

Last week, I mentioned Bojan Z as having played with Sebastian Rochford, member of the surprising quartet Sounds of Kemet. In this continuity, I suggest to listen to a piece by Bojan Z (Zulfikarpašić of his complete name) which has marked me only with its introduction: Biggus D. A delight! Accompanied, in trio, with Rémi...
The Itis - Sons of Kemet

The Itis – Sons of Kemet

At random of my Parisian wanderings at the beginning of the year, I fell on a concert announcement in the Sunside jazz club with drummer Seb Rochford. I have been very impressed by his play when I have seen him accompanying pianist Bojan Z in Cabaret Sauvage a few years ago and then saxophonist Andy...
Short Story - Avishai Cohen

Short Story – Avishai Cohen

A great moment is planned, on Friday evening, in the Main Hall of La Villette (Grande Halle) with the concert of the bassist Avishai Cohen in trio with a distinguished guest: Kurt Rosenwinkel (remember). Among all musical revelations that I had over the years and which find themselves and will find themselves on this blog,...
Sibylla - Tigran Hamasyan

Sibylla – Tigran Hamasyan

As announced in the last post and with for pretext his concert tomorrow, Sunday the 12th of July in Paris Parc Floral, it will be a piece of Tigran Hamasyan « Sibylla » published on the record called « Red Hail -- Aratta Rebirth » that we are going to listen to today. We find quite a lot of...
The dance of eternity - Dream Theater

The dance of eternity – Dream Theater

After Snarky Puppy and before one of my favorite pieces of Tigran Hamasyan, I want to share a tune of a band which may seem distant from these two musical universes but which has in fact many similarities: Dream Theater Difficult to choose a piece in particular in their so consequent and of high-quality discography....
Lingus - Snarky Puppy

Lingus – Snarky Puppy

We stay in the United States with Snarky Puppy, the guest jazz collective. They record their albums in live conditions with fans in full-immersion. Their clips are watched hundreds of thousands of times on youtube and young jazz musicians only swear by them at the moment. This is the event of next Sunday (June the...
The next step – Kurt Rosenwinkel

The next step – Kurt Rosenwinkel

This week, a « all star » band. It is a good pretext to announce some concerts of big jazz festival in Paris in the next months. The tune is called « The next step » and comes from album « Deep Song » by Kurt Rosenwinkel. There is also an excellent version on album « The next step » (same name) with...
From Rio to Havana - Kyle Eastwood

From Rio to Havana – Kyle Eastwood

Next Sunday, Kyle Eastwood will rise on the stage of Parc Floral in Paris. On this occasion, I invite you to listen to my favorite tune of his last album « The view from here » : « From Rio to Havana ». The title « From Rio to Havana » indicates that the beginning of the tune is in a...

Rechercher

Catégories

Ecoutez les playlists Lazikabeber

Le blog Lazikabeber vous propose de retrouver, chaque mois, une sélection de titres récents ou anciens qui ont attirés l’attention de Beber d’une manière ou d’une autre. L’occasion de découvrir ou redécouvrir de nombreux morceaux tout en prenant le temps de les assimiler au long du mois. Retrouvez toutes les playlists triées par années ici: Playlists 2015 Playlists 2014

Listen to Lazikabeber’s playlists

Each month, Lazikabeber suggests a selection of tunes, recent or former, which drew the attention of Beber somehow or other. It is a good opportunity to discover or rediscover numerous pieces while taking time to assimilate them during the month. Find all the playlists sorted out by years here: 2015 playlists 2014 playlists
Derniers articles
Conrod - Julien Lourau

Conrod – Julien Lourau

Il y a trois semaines, lors de l’introduction à Short Story d’Avishai Cohen, je faisait référence à quelques révélations musicales particulièrement marquantes pour moi dont un saxophoniste. C’est en 1996 que j’ai découvert Julien Lourau à la télévision dans les Django d’Or (émission de récompenses pour musiciens de jazz). C’était encore l’époque des cassettes vidéos...
Biggus D - Bojan Z

Biggus D – Bojan Z

La semaine dernière, je mentionnais Bojan Z comme ayant joué avec Sebastian Rochford, membre de l’étonnant quartet Sons of Kemet. C’est donc dans cette continuité que je vous propose aujourd’hui d’écouter un morceau de Bojan Z (Zulfikarpašić de son nom complet) qui m’a marqué rien qu’avec son introduction : Biggus D. Un régal ! Accompagné,...
The Itis - Sons of Kemet

The Itis – Sons of Kemet

Au hasard de mes déambulations parisiennes en début d’année, je suis tombé sur l’annonce d’un concert au Sunside avec le batteur Seb Rochford. J’avais été très impressionné par son jeu lorsque je l’avais vu accompagner le pianiste Bojan Z au Cabaret Sauvage il y a quelques années puis le saxophoniste Andy Sheppard au Sunset. J’ai...
Short Story - Avishai Cohen

Short Story – Avishai Cohen

Grand moment à prévoir, vendredi soir, à la Grande Halle de La Villette avec le concert du contrebassiste Avishai Cohen en trio avec un invité de marque : Kurt Rosenwinkel (souvenez-vous). Parmi toutes les révélations musicales que j’ai eu au fil des années et qui se retrouvent et se retrouveront sur ce blog, j’en retiens...
Sibylla - Tigran Hamasyan

Sibylla – Tigran Hamasyan

Comme je vous l’annonçais dans le dernier article et avec pour prétexte son concert demain dimanche 12 juillet au Parc Floral de Paris, ce sera un morceau de Tigran Hamasyan « Sibylla » publié sur le disque « Red Hail -- Aratta Rebirth » que nous allons écouter aujourd’hui. On y retrouve pas mal de choses entendues dans de...
The dance of eternity - Dream Theater

The dance of eternity – Dream Theater

Après Snarky Puppy et avant un de mes morceaux préférés de Tigran Hamasyan, j’ai envie de retrouver un groupe qui peut paraître éloigné de ces deux univers musicaux mais qui a en fait beaucoup de similitudes : Dream Theater Dur de choisir un morceau à faire écouter tellement leur discographie est conséquente et de grande...
Lingus - Snarky Puppy

Lingus – Snarky Puppy

Nous restons aux Etats-Unis avec le groupe Snarky Puppy, le collectif jazz du moment. Ils enregistrent leurs albums live en proposant aux fans de participer à la séance d’enregistrement en immersion totale. Leurs vidéos sont vues des centaines de milliers de fois sur youtube et les jeunes musiciens jazz ne jurent que par eux en...
The next step - Kurt Rosenwinkel

The next step – Kurt Rosenwinkel

Cette semaine, un groupe « all star », bon prétexte pour vous annoncer quelques concerts des gros festivals de jazz parisiens des prochains mois. Le morceau s’intitule « The next step » et est tiré de l’album « Deep Song » de Kurt Rosenwinkel. Il y en a aussi une excellente version dans l’album qui porte son nom « The next step »...
From Rio to Havana - Kyle Eastwood

From Rio to Havana – Kyle Eastwood

Dimanche prochain, ce sera au tour de Kyle Eastwood de monter sur la scène du Parc Floral de Paris. A cette occasion, je vous propose d’écouter mon morceau préféré de son dernier album « The view from here » : « From Rio to Havana ». Le titre du morceau « From Rio to Havana » annonce un début dans une...
Notti Eluse E Attese Deluse - Paolo Fresu Quintet

Notti Eluse E Attese Deluse – Paolo Fresu Quintet

Le Paris Jazz Festival du Parc Floral va débuter samedi 7 juin pour deux mois d’excellents concerts tous les week-ends. Un bon plan pour écouter de la bonne musique pas cher (entrée 5,50 €, il existe aussi un pass à 20 €) dans un cadre agréable quel que soit le profil : écoute religieuse assis...
Indifférence - La Compagnie Lubat

Indifférence – La Compagnie Lubat

Allez, aujourd’hui, on passe à un autre style ! Une « valse swing dégrisée », à fleur de peau. Vous allez être conquis ! Et pour garder le fil de notre voyage musical, la transition se fera à nouveau avec Jeanne Added et l’article qui lui est dédié dans Citizen Jazz (cf. lien ici) qui nous en...
Shema – Pierre de Bethmann

Shema – Pierre de Bethmann

Continuons à écouter Jeanne Added dans d’autres contextes. La première fois que je l’ai entendue en disque comme en live, c’est dans le septet de Pierre de Bethmann sur l’album « Oui ». J’apprécie beaucoup l’utilisation de sa voix, mêlée aux autres instruments. Pas de paroles, pas plus présente que les autres instrumentistes, même moins présente, on...